My husband is a seafarer. Eight months a year, he has to live on his oil tanker, immersed in the vastness of the open seas. While he embarks on his demanding and adventurous journey, my heart aches with the pain of separation.

Ship, waters, ocean, sea

It is a constant battle between longing for his presence and accommodating the reality that our time together is fleeting. His absence is amplified by the knowledge that he is missed, too, for he often expresses his yearning for our company.

Husband and Wife holding hands near sea

The pain of separation from my husband is a deep emotional wound that never fully heals. It is a constant ache in my heart, a void that can never be filled by anything or anyone else. The routine of waking up every day and realizing that he is not there to share our joys and sorrows, to share in the memories we create as a family, is a harsh reminder of the emptiness that his absence leaves behind.

While when he is home, it is like “Eid” for me. I feel like over the moon. Sadness, life challenges, problems, issues- i can forget everything in his presence.

woman and her husband, smiling and cuddling

However, saying farewell to him is like a curse for me. It really is depressing.

With every passing day, the pain of separation seeps into every aspect of our lives. The bittersweet moments of celebration become tinged with sadness, knowing that he is missing out on the milestones and achievements we experience as a family.

His voice, his touch, and his warm embrace are deeply missed, leaving me yearning for his presence in the simplest of moments.

The pain of separation is not just confined to the physical distance between us. It is also manifested in the challenges we face as a couple.

The constant communication through phone calls and video chats can never truly replace the intimacy of face-to-face conversations. Many a times, there are no signals to talk properly through the internet. And there are many other problems as well. For instance, during work, he cannot talk and so on.

Woman with children watching ship in sea

I have two boys also. My little men also miss theur father badly. He is never there for the boys and they hate it!

Misunderstandings and disagreements often arise due to the limitations of long-distance communication, adding further strain to an already difficult situation.

Despite the pain that separation brings, I find solace in the love and strength that binds us together.

We hold onto the hope that these moments of separation will only make our reunion sweeter, our bond stronger.

The pain of separation serves as a reminder of the deep love we share and the unyielding support that we offer each other. And so, even in the midst of the pain, we find the courage to endure, knowing that our love transcends the distance that separates us.

Despite all these facts, it is also a truth that man is helpless in front of nature. Fate and destiny overpowers freewill. Fate can even break the promises we make with ourselvers and others…

We were immersed in each other one day. He shared the good news of his arrival, and said he could not wait to see me.

In excitement, I rushed toward the kitchen (which was downstairs), I donot know how that happened. Anyways, my left foot slipped and I fell on the floor, rolling like a ball.

My child, in shock started crying at first. After some moments, he called our neighbors in confusion who brought me to the hospital. There the real battle started between the death angel and me. I did not want to die…my beloved was coming…he had packed his bags and was ready to sign off. However….

Woman falling from stairs

“Run to the operation theatre….get oxygen mask….quick…quick…quick….sister, check the patient’s pulse…rush to arrange blood sacks….quick …quick…the patient has no time…quick …quick…1,2,3….”

I could not see, but my ears could catch all the voices and sounds around me. I was soaked in blood, had physical pain and severe heartache. But my soul only wanted him to be there…

Just for the last time, I wanted to hold his hand, kiss his forehead, pull his collar ( that i used to do to annoy him) and bid farewell…just for the last time…!!!!

Nurse treating patient

For years and years, I prayed to die soon. (Or you can say that I never wished to stay alive).This was the first time in my life when I wanted my life, my love, my husband back.

But my time had come…I could only wish to reunite with my sweetheart, my love of life, my husband!

I wish I could say goodbye to him at least!!!!

dead wife

In the depths of sorrow, my heart does grieve,
A tale of separation, hard to conceive.
The bond we had, once strong and true,
Now torn asunder, my love, I rue.

Oh, how the distance tests our souls,
Our happiness shattered, like broken goals.
The warmth we shared, now turned to ice,
A marriage once blissful, now paid the price.

Every day, I wake with a heavy heart,
Feeling the absence tearing me apart.
The emptiness consumes, suffocates my will,
As the ache of separation grows deeper still.

Tears cascade down my anguished face,
As I yearn for his love, his warm embrace.
The laughter we shared, a distant dream,
Caught in a vortex, torn at the seam.

The silence, a haunting symphony of despair,
Echoing the pain of this cruel affair.
The once vibrant union reduced to strife,
A crumbling picture, an unfinished life.

Though time may pass, wounds refuse to mend,
For the pain of separation, there’s no end.
A chapter closed, a love story bled,
The separation from my husband kills, I dread.

Leave a comment